Skip to main content

LAF Announces 2009 Scholarship Winners

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) has awarded a total of $39,500 to 9 outstanding students for its 2009 scholarship season. The scholarships and fellowships support the next generation of designers by rewarding superior student performance, encouraging diversity, supporting original research, and assisting students with unmet financial need. The awards are made possible through endowments established by generous sponsors.

Congratulations to the 2009 winners!


GCA/Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design, $4,000

James Schissel, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Landscape Forms Design for People Scholarship, $3,000

Julie Murphy, North Carolina State University


Courtland Paul Scholarship, $5,000

Emily Rothrock, Virginia Tech


EDSA Minority Scholarship, $5,000

Yessenia Alvarez-Lopez, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo


Steven G. King Play Environments Scholarship, $2,500

Kristi Park, University of Washington

Jared Russell, SUNY ESF


Rain Bird Intelligent Use of Water™ Scholarship, $2,500

Aeryn Donnelly, UCLA Extension


Hawaii Chapter/David T. Woolsey Scholarship, $2,000

Ariel Carlson, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo


Peridian International/Rae L. Price FASLA Scholarship, $5,000

Aeryn Donnelly, UCLA Extension


ASLA Council of Fellows Scholarship, $4,000

Sarah DaBoll Geurtz, University of Arkansas

Emily Rothrock, Virginia Tech

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.