Skip to main content

LAF Announces 2013 Scholarship Winners

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) has awarded a total of $39,500 to 10 outstanding students for its 2013 scholarship season. The scholarships and fellowships support the next generation of designers by rewarding superior student performance, encouraging diversity, supporting original research, and assisting students with unmet financial need. The awards are made possible through endowments established by generous sponsors.

Congratulations to the 2013 winners!


Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design, $4,000

Molly Briggs, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Landscape Forms Design for People Scholarship, $3,000

Courtney Smith, Clemson University


Courtland Paul Scholarship, $5,000

Allison Hanna, Temple University, Ambler


EDSA Minority Scholarship, $5,000

Ayaka Matthews, West Virginia University


Peridian International/Rae L. Price, FASLA Scholarship, $5,000

Jimmy Ta, Cal Poly Pomona


Hawaii Chapter/David T. Woolsey Scholarship, $2,000

Angelica Rockquemore, University of Washington


Steven G. King Play Environments Scholarship, $5,000

Kimberly Cloward Drown, Utah State University


Rain Bird Intelligent Use of Water™ Scholarship, $2,500

Jillian Broeckel, Cal Poly Pomona


ASLA Council of Fellows Scholarship, $4,000

Tania Hernandez, Texas A&M University

Quyh Pham, University of Georgia

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.