Skip to main content

Daniel Zwier/Permaloc Innovation Scholarship

Permaloc logo

Award: $5,000
Deadline: February 1

This scholarship was created to celebrate and acknowledge those landscape architecture students who do not see themselves following a traditional practice path as landscape designers. The scholarship will help students who would like to take the skills and knowledge obtained through a degree in landscape architecture and apply them to careers in areas such as product development, entrepreneurship, politics, nonprofit service, and any other possibility an applicant can imagine.

Daniel Zwier, CEO and Founder of Permaloc Corporation, is one such landscape architect. In 1983, he recognized a need in the industry for enhanced methods for maintaining the lines he incorporated into his designs. Using the skills and knowledge obtained during his training, he designed and patented his first landscape edging product, and started a manufacturing company that has helped to move the practice of landscape architecture progressively forward.

The scholarship is open to currently-enrolled undergraduate or master's students studying landscape architecture at Landscape Architecture Accreditation Board (LAAB) accredited programs in the United States. To be eligible, the applicant must be a U.S. citizen and have a minimum "B" grade point average (2.5 on a 4-point scale.)

Candidates will be evaluated based on demonstrated leadership and their interest in using their landscape architecture training to pursue a non-traditional career path.


To Apply

See the General Application Guidelines for information on using our online application system. All submissions must adhere to guidelines and deadlines in order to be considered. Additional materials will not be reviewed.


Application Contents

All LAF scholarships require applicants to submit the following materials:

  • General Submission Form
    Complete this online form with basic contact information and details about your degree program.
  • Photo
    Provide a color headshot in jpg format that is at least 1800x1200 pixels. It should be horizontally-oriented, well-lit with a simple background, and include your entire head and shoulders. LAF retains the right to use any submitted photo on our website and in other materials promoting LAF’s scholarship programs.
  • Bio for the LAF Website (150 word max)
    Provide a short bio in PDF, Microsoft Word, or TXT format. In 150 words or less, describe your background, current educational pursuits, future plans, and any other personal interests or activities.
  • Resume (2 page max)
    Upload your resume or CV in PDF format. It should include your education, professional experience, extra-curricular activities, and honors and awards. Please include Applicant Name/Resume/Scholarship Name and page number on each page.

In addition, this scholarship requires the following:

  • 2 Letters of Recommendation
    Provide the e-mail address for each recommender and instructions will be sent to them.  
  • Essay (2 page max)
    Upload your original essay in PDF format. In 500 words or less, describe how you see yourself advancing landscape architecture in a role outside of traditional practice. The essay should be no more than two pages with margins at 1”, 10-point or larger font, and no images or graphics. Please include Applicant Name/Essay/Scholarship Name and page number on each page.
  • Work Samples (3 page max)
    Upload three 8.5”x11” academic or internship work samples in one PDF document. Each should include explanatory text describing the project. If it was a group project, state this and describe your role. Please include Applicant Name/Work Samples/Scholarship Name and page number on each page.

In the Innovation Scholarship's inaugural year, the jury was so impressed that they pledged additional funds to be able to make two runner-up awards.

Read More

Adolfo Martinez smiles

Adolfo Martinez of the University of Georgia is the 2023 winner of the $5,000 Daniel Zwier/Permaloc Innovation Scholarship.

Simone Stark smiles

Simone Stark of Florida International University is a 2023 runner-up and receives $3,000.

Savannah Wright smiles

Savannah Wright, SUNY ESF is a 2023 runner-up and receives $1,000.

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.