Skip to main content

Congratulations to our 2022 LAF Olmsted Scholars

Kathryn Finnigan of the University of Colorado Denver and Trecia Cintron of The Ohio State University were selected as the 2022 LAF National Olmsted Scholars, winning the $25,000 graduate and $15,000 undergraduate prizes, respectively.

Also honored are six National Olmsted Scholar Finalists:
- Megan Adams, Iowa State University
- Robert Douglass, Cal Poly Pomona
- Kate Flaherty, Cornell University
- Avery Haynes, Louisiana State University 
- Daniel Kletzing, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
- Leigh Muldrow, University of Delaware

They are among the 89 LAF Olmsted Scholars named in 2022 and join the growing community of 981 past and present scholars.

Headshots of the 2 LAF Olmsted Scholar winners and 6 Finalists

The LAF Olmsted Scholars Program recognizes and supports students with exceptional leadership potential who are using ideas, influence, communication, service, and leadership to advance sustainable design and foster human and societal benefits.

Named for Frederick Law Olmsted, the LAF Olmsted Scholars Program with its $25,000 graduate and $15,000 undergraduate prize is the premier leadership recognition program for landscape architecture students. Now in its 15th year, the program recognizes one outstanding student from each accredited landscape architecture program in the U.S. and Canada, along with the jury-selected graduate and undergraduate national award winners and finalists. Students are both honored for past achievements and recognized for their future potential to influence the landscape architecture discipline.

These rising leaders join a growing community of 981 past and present LAF Olmsted Scholars. The prestige and opportunities associated with the award underscore the significance of landscape architecture and help cultivate the next generation of inspired and motivated leaders.

The LAF Olmsted Scholars Program is made possible with support from our generous sponsors. Promotion support is provided by the American Society of Landscape Architects.

Program Sponsors

  • Deeproot logo
  • Design Workshop logo
  • EDSA logo
  • HOK logo
  • Ironsmith logo
  • LandDesign logo
  • OJB logo
  • OLIN logo
  • Sasaki Associates logo
  • SWA Group logo
  • Steven G. King, FASLA
  • Bill and Kathy Main, Hon. ASLA

Finalist Awards

Thanks to the generous support of LAF’s 50 & Forward Campaign donors, starting in 2018, the Olmsted Scholar finalist awards increased from $1,000 to $5,000 for graduate students and $3,000 for undergraduates.

See campaign donors