Skip to main content

Through two annual awards, the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) recognizes those individuals and firms/organizations that have made a significant and sustained contribution to the LAF mission of supporting the preservation, improvement and enhancement of the environment.

Launched in 2016 for LAF’s 50th anniversary, these awards are the Foundation's highest honors. Recipients are announced each year in February and honored at an LAF Awards Dinner in the spring. Nominations and selections are made by the LAF Board of Directors and Board Emeritus Council.


Both awards are conveyed annually, with the winners honored at the LAF Awards Dinner in the spring. Nominations are made by the LAF Board Emeritus Council. Final selections are made by the Board Emeritus Council and LAF Executive Committee.

2020 Award Committee Members:

  • Len Hopper, FASLA, Weintraub Diaz Landscape Architecture, Committee Chair
  • Chip Crawford, FASLA, BATESFORUM
  • Kathleen Garcia, FASLA, City of Del Mar
  • Richard Hawks, FASLA, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
  • Frederick Steiner, FASLA, University of Pennsylvania

For more information, contact Tommie-Lynne Hellwig at tlhellwig [at] or 202-331-7070 x17.

LAF Medal

This award is conveyed to a landscape architect for distinguished work over a career in applying the principles of sustainability to landscapes. The award recognizes lifetime achievements in design, research, innovation, advocacy, and/or policy with a focus on sustainability. Honorees come from private practice, academia, nonprofit and public sectors, exemplify the values of LAF, and have made a significant contribution to the advancement of the landscape architecture discipline.

  • Bill Johnson, FASLA
    Bill Johnson Cofounder, JJR and Former Dean of the School of Natural Resources, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI 
  • Joe Brown, FASLA
    Joseph E. Brown, FASLA Former CEO (EDAW) and Chief Innovation Officer, AECOM, San Francisco, CA 
  • Carol Franklin
    Carol Franklin Founding Principal, Andropogon Associates, Ltd, Philadelphia, PA 
  • Cornelia Hahn Oberlander
    Cornelia Hahn Oberlander Vancouver, BC 
  • Grant Jones
    Grant Jones Cofounder, Jones & Jones, Seattle, WA 

LAF Founders’ Award

This award is conveyed to a firm, agency, or organization that demonstrates a significant commitment to preserving, creating, or enhancing landscapes over a sustained period of time. The award is not limited to groups within the landscape architecture discipline.

  • Sustainable Urban Forests Coalition
    Sustainable Urban Forests Coalition Washington, DC 
  • The Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center logo
    Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center Austin, TX 
  • The Trust for Public Land square logo
    Trust for Public Land San Francisco, CA 
  • National Park Service logo
    National Park Service Washington, DC 
  • American Society of Landscape Architects ASLA square logo
    American Society of Landscape Architects Washington, DC 

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.