Skip to main content

LAF Announces 2015 Scholarship Winners

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) has awarded a total of $38,500 to 10 outstanding students for its 2015 scholarship season. The scholarships and fellowships support the next generation of designers by rewarding superior student performance, encouraging diversity, supporting original research, and assisting students with unmet financial need. The awards are made possible through endowments established by generous sponsors.


Congratulations to the 2015 winners!


GCA/ Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design, $4,000

Emily Detrick, Cornell University


Landscape Forms Design for People Scholarship, $3,000

Austin Javallena, Iowa State University


EDSA Minority Scholarship, $5,000

Xitong Li, University of Texas at Arlington


Peridian International/Rae L. Price, FASLA Scholarship, $5,000

Nicole Nguyen, Cal Poly Pomona


Steven G. King Play Environments Scholarship, $5,000

Zoe Boothe-Jarrett, Temple University


Rain Bird Intelligent Use of Water™ Scholarship, $2,500

Andrew Cridlin, Virginia Tech


Hawaii Chapter/David T. Woolsey Scholarship, $2,500

Nicole Nakakura, Cornell University


ASLA Council of Fellows Scholarship, $4,000

Abdias Dalisma, University of Florida

Rachel SantaOlalla, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Kelsey Steward, Kansas State University

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.