Skip to main content

Congratulations to Our 2019 LAF Olmsted Scholars

Areti Athanasopoulos of the University of Colorado Denver and Anjelyque Easley of The Pennsylvania State University were selected the 2019 LAF National Olmsted Scholars, winning the $25,000 graduate and $15,000 undergraduate prizes, respectively.

Also honored are six National Olmsted Scholar Finalists:
- Jennifer Lauer, SUNY College of Env Science & Forestry
- Fatema Maswood, University of Washington
- Grace Mitchell Tada, University of California, Berkeley
Madelynne Clark, Ball State University
Adriana Hernandez Aguirre, Texas A&M University
- Christian Moore, The Ohio State University

They are among the 86 LAF Olmsted Scholars named in 2019 and join the growing community of 720 past and present scholars.

Headshots of the 2 LAF Olmsted Scholar winners and 6 Finalists

The LAF Olmsted Scholars Program recognizes and supports students with exceptional leadership potential who are using ideas, influence, communication, service, and leadership to advance sustainable design and foster human and societal benefits.

Named for Frederick Law Olmsted, the father of American landscape architecture, the LAF Olmsted Scholars Program with its $25,000 graduate and $15,000 undergraduate prize is the premier leadership recognition program for landscape architecture students. Now in its 12th year, the program recognizes one outstanding student from each accredited landscape architecture program in the U.S. and Canada, along with the jury-selected graduate and undergraduate national award winners and finalists. Students are both honored for past achievements and recognized for their future potential to influence the landscape architecture profession.

These future leaders of the profession join a growing community of 720 past and present LAF Olmsted Scholars. The prestige and publicity associated with the award underscore the significance of landscape architecture and help cultivate the next generation of inspired and motivated leaders.

The LAF Olmsted Scholars Program is made possible with support from our generous sponsors. Promotion support is provided by the American Society of Landscape Architects.

Program Sponsors

  • The Toro Company logo
  • HOK logo
  • OLIN logo
  • Sasaki Associates logo
  • Ironsmith logo
  • LandDesign logo
  • Deeproot logo
  • Bill Main, Hon. ASLA
  • Steven G. King, FASLA
  • Thomas C. and Gerry D. Donnelly

Finalist Awards

Thanks to the generous support of LAF’s 50 & Forward Campaign donors, starting in 2018, the Olmsted Scholar finalist awards increased from $1,000 to $5,000 for graduate students and $3,000 for undergraduates.

See campaign donors