Skip to main content

Announcing LAF's 2008 Olmsted Scholars

The Landscape Architecture Foundation is pleased to announce the national award winner and four finalists for the inaugural 2008 Olmsted Scholars Program.

Andrea Gaffney
Andrea Gaffney

Andrea Gaffney, a graduate student at the University of California, Berkeley, was selected as the 2008 National Olmsted Scholar and winner of the $25,000 scholarship. Andrea will receive Master's degrees in Landscape Architecture and City Planning in May and plans to used the award to travel to cities around the United States to conduct research on specific corridor and infrastructure projects.

Also honored are the National Olmsted Scholar Runner-Up and three National Olmsted Scholar Finalists.

2008 National Olmsted Scholar Runner-Up and Finalists

Top row: Runner-Up; Bottom row: Finalists

  • Headshot of Stephanie Bailey, 2008 National Olmsted Scholar Finalist

    Stephanie Bailey
    University of Oregon


  • Headshot of Karl Krause, 2008 National Olmsted Scholar Finalist

    Karl Krause
    University of Virginia

  • Headshot of Ellen Pond, 2008 National Olmsted Scholar Finalist

    Ellen Pond
    University of British Columbia

  • Headshot of David Vogel, 2008 National Olmsted Scholar Finalist

    David Vogel
    Kansas State University

The Landscape Architecture Foundation is pleased to recognize these outstanding young leaders and the incredibly high caliber of talent they represent,” said LAF President Greg Ochis. “This is the first scholarship focusing on leadership in sustainable design and planning, and LAF is excited at the opportunity to advance the profession.”

An independent jury of leaders in the landscape architecture profession selected the winner and finalists from a group of 24 graduate and undergraduate students who were nominated by their faculty for being exceptional student leaders. These top students earned the designation of 2008 LAF Olmsted Scholars and are the initial members of the Olmsted Scholar community which will continue to grow each year.

Juror Lucinda Sanders called the program “phenomenal,” noting that “the profession needs the next wave of leaders to be spokespersons, leaders, and designers. This program is a great place to reinforce that.  It provides context for the profession and an endorsement that the Olmsted Scholars can lead and change the profession.”

The scholarship is made possible with support from founding sponsors: EDSA, HOK, the Edith Harrison Henderson Fund, Olin Partnership, the Raymond E. Page Fund and the Harriet Barnhardt Wimmer Fund/Wimmer Yamada and Caughey.  Annual sponsors include: EDAW, Landscape Forms, Peridian International, ah'be landscape architects and Hunter Industries.  Media support is provided by the American Society of Landscape Architects.


2008 LAF Olmsted Scholars


Cameron Campbell, University of Texas at Austin | Diane Finnegan, University of Wisconsin-Madison | Brett Floyd, Clemson University | Jason Grimm, Iowa State University | Bethany Harre, University of Illinois | Amanda Jeter, University of Colorado-Denver | Patrick Johnston, Cal Poly Pomona | Karen Kennedy, University of Washington | Kristi Loui, University of Pennsylvania | Todd Merrin, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Melissa Philen, Virginia Tech | Laura Podolsky, University of California, Davis | Kristin Raab, University of Minnesota | Amy Sharkey, University of Texas at Arlington | Lacy Swanson, Cornell University | Rebekah VanWieren, University of Michigan | Jennifer Walker, University of Georgia | Helen Walthier, University of Arizona | Julia Watson, Harvard University


The 2008 jury members were:

  • Barbara Faga, FASLA, EDAW Principal
  • Perry Howard, FASLA, ASLA President and North Carolina A&T Coordinator and Professor of Landscape Architecture
  • Joseph J. Lalli, FASLA, EDSA President and Managing Partner
  • Greg Ochis, ASLA, LAF President and Lend Lease Communities Project Director
  • Lucinda Sanders, ASLA, Olin Partnership Partner
  • Peter Walker, FASLA, Peter Walker and Partners, Partner in Charge

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.