Skip to main content

LAF Announces 2010 Scholarship Winners

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) has awarded a total of $39,500 to 10 outstanding students for its 2010 scholarship season. The scholarships and fellowships support the next generation of designers by rewarding superior student performance, encouraging diversity, supporting original research, and assisting students with unmet financial need. The awards are made possible through endowments established by generous sponsors.

Congratulations to the 2010 winners!


GCA/Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design, $4,000

Jennifer Gorospe, San Jose University


Landscape Forms Design for People Scholarship, $3,000

Jaclyn Johnson. Iowa State University


Courtland Paul Scholarship, $5,000

Rebecca Vanni, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo


EDSA Minority Scholarship, $5,000

Fernando Chiquette, University of Arizona


Steven G. King Play Environments Scholarship, $5,000

Travis Martin, University of British Columbia


Rain Bird Intelligent Use of Water™ Scholarship, $2,500

Sarah Beth Rueger, UCLA Extension


Hawaii Chapter/David T. Woolsey Scholarship, $2,000

Sean Ogawa, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo


Peridian International/Rae L. Price FASLA Scholarship, $5,000

Taryn Foster, UCLA Extension


ASLA Council of Fellows Scholarship, $4,000

Sofia Chavarria, Florida International University

Zeina Zahalan, Rutgers University

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.