Skip to main content

Announcing LAF's 2010 Olmsted Scholars

The Landscape Architecture Foundation is pleased to announce the winner and finalists for its 2010 Olmsted Scholars Program, the premier leadership recognition program for landscape architecture students.

Emily Vogler, 2010 National Olmsted Scholar

Emily Vogler, a graduate student at the University of Pennsylvania, was selected as the 2010 National Olmsted Scholar and recipient of the $25,000 award. Emily will receive a Master's of Landscape Architecture and Regional Planning degree in May and plans to use the award to conduct research on issues of sustainable regionalism evaluating city-regions at three scales: the neighborhood; the city; the region.

Also honored are the five National Olmsted Scholar Finalists.

2010 National Olmsted Scholar Finalists


  • Headshot of David Godshall, 2010 National Olmsted Scholar Finalist

    David Godshall
    University of California, Berkeley

  • Headshot of Lauren Hackney, 2010 National Olmsted Scholar Finalist

    Lauren Hackney
    University of Virginia

  • Headshot of Chris Hardy, 2010 National Olmsted Scholar Finalist

    Christopher Hardy
    Cornell University

  • Headshot of Caitlin Harrigan, 2010 National Olmsted Scholar Finalist

    Caitlin Harrigan
    University of British Columbia

  • Headshot of Amanda Jeter, 2010 National Olmsted Scholar Finalist

    Amanda Jeter
    University of Colorado-Denver

An independent jury of leaders in the landscape architecture profession selected the winner and finalists from a group of 38 graduate and undergraduate students who were nominated by their faculty for being exceptional student leaders. These top students earned the designation of 2010 LAF Olmsted Scholars and join the growing community of 89 past and present Olmsted Scholars. See all past finalists and winners here.

Established in 2008, the Olmsted Scholars Program honors students with exceptional leadership potential who are using ideas, influence, communication, service, and leadership to advance sustainable design and foster human and societal benefits. Past National Olmsted Scholars include Andrea Gaffney from the University of California, Berkeley (2008) and David Malda from the University of Virginia (2009).

The scholarship is made possible with support from Founding Sponsors: EDSA, HOK, the Edith Harrison Henderson Fund, OLIN, the Raymond E. Page Fund and the Harriet Barnhardt Wimmer Fund/Wimmer Yamada and Caughey; Annual Sponsors: Graham Landscape Architects and Hunter Industries; and Special Commitment: ASLA.


2010 LAF Olmsted Scholars


Susan Alford, University of Texas at Arlington | Bram Barth, University of Illinois | Leslie Batten, University of Washington | William Benge, Louisiana State University | Christo Brehm, University of Oregon | Colleen Corballis, Utah State University | Travis Flohr, Pennsylvania State University | Rebecca Fox, University of California, Davis | Timothy Gazzo, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry | Bryan Harrison, University of Rhode Island

Kent Hipp, Virginia Tech | Elise Hubbard, Kansas University | Ryan Jacobson, Purdue University | Chris Jennette, University of Massachusetts, Amherst | Curt Jennings, University of Oklahoma | Christopher Kiefer, University of Arizona | Edward Krafcik, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey | Lauren Lesch, University of Michigan | April Marshburn, Cal Poly Pomona | Matthew Meyer, University of Florida

Adam Nugent, Texas A&M University | Jordan Petersen, North Carolina State University | Sara Pierce, University of Texas at Austin | Brady Richards, University of Georgia | Derek Ryan, Clemson University | Grace Ryan, University of Maryland | Mala Sinha, University of Guelph | Kathryn Stratmann, Chatham University | Avery Telligman, North Carolina A&T University | Andrew tenBrink, Harvard University

Amie West, Morgan State University | Catherine Wood, Temple University


The 2010 jury members were:

  • Susan Szenasy, Editor-in-Chief, Metropolis Magazine
  • Mark Dawson, ASLA, Principal, Sasaki Associates, Inc.
  • Forster Ndubisi, Professor and Department Head, Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning, Texas A&M University
  • Teresa Durkin, Vice President and Senior Landscape Architect, HOK
  • Jonathan Mueller, FASLA, ASLA President-Elect, Senior Landscape Architect at Landmark/Architects West, Inc.
  • Skip Graffam, ASLA, Partner/Director of Research, OLIN
  • David Malda, 2009 National Olmsted Scholar, University of Virginia

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.