Skip to main content

LAF Announces 2016 Scholarship Winners

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) has awarded a total of $67,500 to 13 outstanding students for its 2016 scholarship season. The scholarships and fellowships support the next generation of designers by rewarding superior student performance, encouraging diversity, supporting original research, and assisting students with unmet financial need. The awards are made possible through endowments established by generous sponsors.

Congratulations to the 2016 winners!


LAF Honor Scholarship in Memory of Joe Lalli, FASLA, $20,000

Sanaz Chamanara, University of Michigan


GCA/Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design, $4,000

Elyzabeth Engle, The Pennsylvania State University

Margaret Kraus, University of Massachusetts, Amherst


ASLA-NY Designing in the Public Realm Scholarship, $5,000

Ruth Nervig, City College of New York


Landscape Forms Design for People Scholarship, $3,000

Lauren Koch, University of Nebraska-Lincoln


EDSA Minority Scholarship, $5,000

Jorge Alarcon, University of Washington


Steven G. King Play Environments Scholarship, $5,000

Erica Quigley, Boston Architectural College


Rain Bird Intelligent Use of Water™ Scholarship, $2,500

Haily Flowers, West Virginia University


Hawaii Chapter/David T. Woolsey Scholarship, $2,500

Quinn Uesugi, Cornell University

Kelsey Wai, University of Oregon


ASLA Council of Fellows Scholarship, $5,000

Lauren Pinto, Rutgers University

Daniel Rodriguez, University of Florida

Abbey Wallace, Mississippi State University

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.