Skip to main content

LAF Announces 2017 Scholarship Winners

The Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) has awarded a total of $59,500 to 10 outstanding students for its 2017 scholarship season. The scholarships and fellowships support the next generation of designers by rewarding superior student performance, encouraging diversity, supporting original research, and assisting students with unmet financial need. The awards are made possible through endowments established by generous sponsors.

Congratulations to the 2017 winners!


LAF Honor Scholarship in Memory of Joe Lalli, FASLA, $20,000

Dhara Mittal, University of Michigan


GCA/Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design, $4,000

Kevin Jeffrey, University of Texas at Austin


ASLA-NY Designing in the Public Realm Scholarship, $5,000

Rivka Weinstock, University of Pennsylvania


Landscape Forms Design for People Scholarship, $3,000

Sarah Robinson, University of Guelph


EDSA Minority Scholarship, $5,000

Anjelica Sifuentes, Louisiana State University


Steven G. King Play Environments Scholarship, $5,000

Allison Ong, University of Washington


Rain Bird Intelligent Use of Water™ Scholarship, $2,500

Jesse Lafian, University of Georgia


ASLA Council of Fellows Scholarship, $5,000

Casey Frederick, Mississippi State University

Alexis Griffin, University of Oregon

Phillip Hammond, Texas A&M University

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.