Skip to main content

Welcome 2018-2019 Board of Directors!

Stephanie Rolley, President of LAF, makes her closing remarks from a podium at the LAF Annual Benefit while a large group of student leaders looks on
Stephanie Rolley, who took office as LAF President during the Annual Benefit, makes closing remarks recognizing the LAF Olmsted Scholars in attendance. (LAF/You Wu)

The 2018-2019 LAF Board of Directors began its term on October 19, 2018 at LAF’s Annual Board Meeting in Philadelphia. Stephanie Rolley, FASLA, AICP of Kansas State University became President, succeeding now Past-President Adam Greenspan, ASLA of PWP Landscape Architecture whose tenure included the first LAF Symposium for Innovation and Leadership, the tenth anniversary of the LAF Olmsted Scholars Program, and unprecedented growth in the Foundation’s organizational capacity. Lisa Switkin of James Corner Field Operations became President-Elect following a year of service as Vice President of Leadership.

Director Brian Jencek became the new Vice President of Leadership. Five other officers continue in their positions on the executive leadership team.

  • Vice President of Education:
    Kofi Boone, ASLA, North Carolina State University
  • Vice President of Research:
    M. Elen Deming, DDes, FASLA, FCELA, North Carolina State University
  • Vice President of Leadership:
    Brian Jencek, ASLA, HOK
  • Vice President of Communication:
    Richard E. Heriford, Landscape Forms
  • Vice President of Finance: 
    Monte Wilson, ASLA, Jacobs Engineering
  • Vice President of Development: 
    Jim Manskey, ASLA, TBG Partners

Gerdo Aquino, FASLA of SWA, Jennifer Guthrie, FASLA of GGN, Richard Weller of the University of Pennsylvania, and Gayle Berens retired off the board at the end of their terms, which included a four-year extension for Jennifer. Nina Chase of Merritt Chase rotated off after serving a two-year term as an Olmsted Scholar representative, Vaughn Rinner, FASLA rotated off after serving for a year in an Ex Officio capacity as an ASLA Representative, and Bo Yang rotated off after serving a two-year term as CELA Representative. Thank you for your service!

Six new Directors joined the LAF Board, bringing experience and insights from a variety of landscape architecture practices. Andrew Zientek, a 2011 Olmsted Scholar, was selected for the open Director position for Olmsted Scholars. ASLA Immediate Past President Gregory A. Miller, FASLA will serve as an ASLA Representative, and Galen Newman, Ph.D. will serve as the CELA Representative. Welcome to the new Board members:

  • Sierra Bainbridge, ASLA, MASS Design Group
  • Natalia Beard, SWA Group
  • Tim Duggan, ASLA, Phronesis
  • Gregory A. Miller, FASLA, MRWM Landscape Architects
  • Galen Newman, Ph.D., ASLA, Texas A&M University
  • Andrew Zientek, Weiss/Manfredi

LAF is honored to have such an accomplished, passionate, and engaged board, and we look forward to working together to advance the vision laid out in our New Landscape Declaration. Thanks to all for your commitment and service.

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.