Skip to main content

Thank You to Our 2021 Scholarship Jurors

In 2021, the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) awarded over $125,000 to students through 15 different scholarships established by generous sponsors. The recipients are chosen through a competitive application and selection process. LAF convenes juries to decide the winners of seven awards.

We would like to sincerely thank everyone who served on a scholarship jury this year. The time and thoughtful review put forth by these jurors reflects their dedication to the profession, hope for the future, and commitment to supporting the next generation of designers!

LAF Honor Scholarship in Memory of Joe Lalli, FASLA

Patricia Akinaga, PhD, APA
Principal, Studio-MLA
San Francisco, California

Kimberly Garza, ASLA, PLA, LEED AP
Founder and Principal, ATLAS Lab
Sacramento, California

Michael Hill, ASLA

Landscape Architect, USDA Forest Service
Washington, DC

Scott Jordan
Principal, Civitas
Denver, Colorado


LAF Honor Scholarship for Inclusive Community Design

Jeanette Ankoma-Sey, ASLA
Landscape Architect, Arlington County
Arlington, Virginia

Mukul Malhotra
Principal, MIG
Berkeley, California

Samantha Solano, PLA
Assistant Professor of Landscape Architecture, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Amherst, Massachusetts

Landscape Forms Scholarship in Memory of Peter Lindsay Schaudt, FASLA

Rodrigo Abela, ASLA, PLA, LEED AP BD+C
Principal, GGN
Washington, DC

Michelle Arab, ASLA, RLA
Director of Landscape Architecture, Olson Kundig
Seattle, Washington

Marjorie Simmons
CEO, Landscape Forms
Kalamazoo, Michigan

Steven G. King Play Environments Scholarship

Missy Benson
Consultant, Benson & Benson Consulting LLC
Richmond, Virginia

H. Nyunny Kim
Principal, Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates Inc.
New York City, New York

Jane Tesner Kleiner, RLA    
Principal, nature+play designs
Vancouver, Washington

Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design

Julie Moir Messervy
Founder and Principal, Julie Moir Messervy Design Studio
Bellows Falls, Vermont

Matt Nicolette 
Associate, Studio Outside
Dallas, Texas
April Philips, FASLA

Founder & Principal, April Philips Design Works
San Rafael, California

Daniel Zwier/Permaloc Innovation Scholarship

Maisie Hughes, ASLA, APA
Senior Director of Urban Forestry, American Forests, and co-Founder, the Urban Studio
Washington, DC

Chris Landau
Principal, LANDAU Design+Technology
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Daniel Martin, Hon. ASLA, LEED AP
Director of Development and Strategic Partnerships, American Society of Landscape Architects
Washington, DC

Daniel Zwier, ASLA
Founder, Permaloc Corporation
Holland, Michigan

Landscape Forms Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Scholarship

Austin Allen, PhD, ASLA
Principal, DesignJones LLC, and Associate Professor (Ret.), Louisiana State University
New Orleans, Louisiana

Marcus Rowell
Business Development Manager, Landscape Forms
Seattle, Washington

Amy Syverson-Shaffer
Business Development Manager, Landscape Forms
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.