Skip to main content

Thank You to Our 2022 Scholarship Jurors

In 2022, the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) awarded $167,000 to students through 17 different scholarships established by generous sponsors. The recipients are chosen through a competitive application and selection process. LAF convenes juries to decide the winners of nine awards.

We would like to sincerely thank everyone who served on a scholarship jury this year. The time and thoughtful review put forth by these jurors reflects their dedication to the profession, hope for the future, and commitment to supporting the next generation of designers!

LAF Honor Scholarship in Memory of Joe Lalli, FASLA

Andrea Cochran, FASLA
President of Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture 
San Francisco, California

CL Bohannon, PhD, ASLA
Interim Director, Associate Professor, Director of the Community Engagement Lab, Virginia Tech 
Blacksburg, Virginia

Kimberly Garza, ASLA, PLA, LEED AP
Founder and Principal, ATLAS Lab
Sacramento, California

Scott Lamont, PLA
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Darlene Montgomery
Director of Landscape Architecture, Snøhetta
New York, New York


LAF Honor Scholarship for Inclusive Community Design

Jeanette Ankoma-Sey, ASLA
Landscape Architect, Arlington County
Arlington, Virginia

Diana Fernandez, ASLA, PLA 
Senior Associate Landscape Architect
Boston, Massachusetts  

Patrick Phillips
Retired, CEO Urban Land Institute 
Washington, DC

Douglas Williams, PhD, ASLA, LEED GA
Landscape Architect, VISTA; Americorps 
Chicago, Illinois

Ujijji Davis, PLA, ASLA
Founder, JIMA Studio 
Detroit, Michigan


Landscape Forms Scholarship in Memory of Peter Lindsay Schaudt, FASLA

Michelle Arab, ASLA, RLA
Director of Landscape Architecture, Olson Kundig
Seattle, Washington

Scott Reinholt, ASLA
Sales Director, Landscape Forms 
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Steven G. King Play Environments Scholarship

Missy Benson
Consultant, Benson & Benson Consulting LLC
Richmond, Virginia

Scott Roschi     
Creative Director, Landscape Structures 
Chaska, Minnesota 

Amy Wagenfield, PhD, OTR/L, SCEM, EDAC, FAOTA 
Affiliate Assistant Professor, University of Washington Landscape Architecture/Occupational Therapist and Author
Seattle, Washington


Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design

 Julie Moir Messervy
Founder and Principal, Julie Moir Messervy Design Studio
Bellows Falls, Vermont

Ryan Moody, ASLA
Founder and Principal, Moody Graham
Washington, DC 

Andrew Sell
Associate, Sasaki
Boston, Massachusetts


Daniel Zwier/Permaloc Innovation Scholarship

Sara Abed 
Landscape Designer, SVA Architects 
Santa Ana, California 

Daniel Martin, Hon. ASLA, LEED AP
Director of Development and Strategic Partnerships, American Society of Landscape Architects
Washington, DC

Daniel Zwier, ASLA
Founder, Permaloc Corporation
Holland, Michigan

Landscape Forms Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Scholarship

Charles Cross, AIA
Architect and Founder of Charles Cross Architecture, PC 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Melissa Henao-Robledo
Business Development, Landscape Forms
Austin, Texas

Amy Syverson-Shaffer
Business Development Manager, Landscape Forms
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania


LandDesign Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Scholarship

Michael Hill, ASLA
Landscape Architect, US Forest Service 
Washington, DC

Jason Granado, PLA
Associate, LandDesign 
Charlotte, North Carolina 

Xiao Cui 
Associate Designer, LandDesign 
Dallas, Texas

Gabriela Canamer-Clark
Partner, LandDesign 
Washington, DC 


Kenneth R. Brooks MLA Research Scholarship

Patrick Miller, PhD, FASLA, FCELA
Professor Emeritus, Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Virginia

Lolly Tai, PhD, RLA, FASLA
Professor Emeritus, Temple University 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.