Skip to main content

Thank You to Our 2024 Scholarship Jurors

In 2024, the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) awarded $174,000 to 28 students through 16 different scholarships established by generous sponsors. The recipients are chosen through a competitive application and selection process. LAF convenes juries to decide the winners of nine awards.

We would like to sincerely thank everyone who served on a scholarship jury this year. The time and thoughtful review put forth by these jurors reflects their dedication to the profession, hope for the future, and commitment to supporting the next generation of designers!


LAF Honor Scholarship in Memory of Joe Lalli, FASLA

Rebecca Bradley, PLA, WEDG, ASLA
Founding Principal, Cadence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Principal, MIG
Los Angeles, California

Xiang Li, PLA
Principal, EDSA
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Marc Miller
Associate Professor, Penn State
University Park, Pennsylvania

Judy Venonsky, RSLA, ASLA
Associate, OLIN
Pennington, New Jersey


LAF Honor Scholarship for Inclusive Community Design

Linda Chamorro
Assistant Professor, Florida International University
Miami, Florida

Kathy Garcia, FASLA
Adjunct Lecturer, University of California San Diego 
New York, New York

Will Metcalf, ASLA, SITES AP
Designer, SWT Design
Kansas City, Missouri

Patrick Phillips
Retired, CEO Urban Land Institute 
Washington, District of Columbia

David Zielnicki, PLA, BCSLA
Partner, Unknown Studio
Baltimore, Maryland


Landscape Forms Scholarship in Memory of Peter Lindsay Schaudt, FASLA

Terrance DeWan 
Principal, VIEWSHED
Yarmouth, Maine

Kene Okigbo, PLA, ASLA 
Landscape Architect, RDG Planning & Design 
Omaha, Nebraska

Amy Syverson-Shaffer, ASLA, RLA, SITES AP
Sustainability Leader, Landscape Forms 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania


Steven G. King Play Environments Scholarship

Meghan Talarowski, PLA, ASLA, CPSI 
Founder and Executive Director, Studio Ludo 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Anthony Fettes, ASLA, PLA, PDC 
Assistant Professor, University of Mexico 
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Lisa Casey, PLA, LEED AP BD-C
Associate, Studio Outside 
Dallas, Texas


Douglas Dockery Thomas Fellowship in Garden History and Design

Jeff Aten
Associate Principal, Nelson Byrd Woltz 
Charlottesville, Virginia

Helen Kongsgaard
Partner, Studio Kongsgaard

Grant Thompson, PhD, PLA
Landscape Architect, RDG Planning and Design 
Ames, Iowa


Daniel Zwier/Permaloc Innovation Scholarship

Daniel Zwier, ASLA
Founder, Permaloc Corporation
Holland, Michigan

Stephanie Onwenu, ASLA
Founder + ArtistFounder + Artist, Ijeomalandartscapes LLC
Detroit, Michigan

Daniel Martin, Hon. ASLA, LEED AP
Director of Development and Strategic Partnerships, ASLA
Washington, DC


Landscape Forms Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Scholarship

Magdalena Aravena, ASLA, PLA
Founder, Studio Siembra 
Denver, Colorado

Melissa Henao-Robledo
Business Development, Landscape Forms
Austin, Texas

Emily Noh
Business Development, Landscape Forms
Portland, Oregon


LandDesign Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Scholarship

Vincent Agoe, PLA
Senior Landscape Designer, RELM 
Los Angeles, California

Charles Cross, ASLA
Director of Landscape and Urban Design, Detroit Collaborative Design Center 
Detroit, Michigan

Brianna Dimalanta
Associate Designer, LandDesign 
Dallas, Texas

Tiffany Sawochka
Associate, Senior Designer, LandDesign
Orlando, Florida


Kenneth R. Brooks MLA Research Scholarship

Yiwei Huang
Professor, Purdue University
West Lafayette, Indiana

Haven Kiers
Assistant Professor, University of California, Davis 
Davis, California

Phillip Zawarus
Associate Professor, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Las Vegas, Nevada

LAF is grateful to the many individuals and organizations that provide financial support towards fulfilling our mission to support the preservation, improvement, and enhancement of the environment.

Much of what LAF is able to accomplish would not be possible without the thought leadership and financial investment of our major supporters, including ASLA, which provides over $125,000 of in-kind support annually.